Delving Into the Archives of Boyd Lodge

Dear Boyd Lodge family,

What a journey these past 90 years have been. Over the nine decades, Boyd Lodge has transformed, grown, and had new life infused into it. We pour our hearts into making each guest’s experience one they will remember for years and years. We’ve thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it.  

Let’s take a journey into our archives as we celebrate this joyous milestone year. For those who check in often, take the time to reminisce and reflect on your time spent in the water, on the sand, and with your loved ones. For those who have yet to stay in one of our charming cabins or take part in some of the fun family resort traditions, take the time to learn a bit about us below.

1934 – Lynn Boyd felt a deep sense of purpose to live in Crosslake and to share its beauty with others. He purchased a piece of lakeshore (200 feet!) and built his first cabin. 

After he married his wife Ceil, they moved up north permanently. At first, Lynn housed fishermen who frequented Whitefish Lake, but as word spread, more flocked to the area.

Soon families came not only to fish but to simply relax and unwind. Lynn and Ceil began building cabins to keep up with the demand and finally, once they built their first cabin with a fireplace, they moved in. This became their first home together, the lodge, and candy store.

1938 – Lynn and Ceil’s only child, Nancy, was born.

1940 – The current lodge and store was built by Lynn and Ceil. 

Ceil loved to cook and she was an excellent one, so she put that skill to good use and fed the fishermen out of her small kitchen. 

1950 – Where the cottages now sit, the family ran a mink farm!

1951 – Sadly, Ceil passed away. Nancy and Lynn ran the lodge until Nancy went away to college. 

1954 – A large two-story addition was built to the lodge which made room for a dining room, two bathrooms, five bedrooms, and a full basement. This was the first time the building had indoor plumbing.

1956 – The garage and apartment above were hit by lightning and burned down. Unfortunately, many treasures were lost.

1966 –  Lynn and his second wife, Dorothy, were tragically killed in a car accident.

1967 – Nancy and her husband, Roger, moved to Boyd Lodge and assumed operations. 

It was a hard time for the family and a hard decision for Nancy and Roger because they were raising two small children. In the end, they decided this was a dream that they wanted to pursue and carry on for Lynn and Ceil. 

1969 – A swimming pool was added! The same pool that is used today.

1976 – Tennis courts were added! 

1983 – The townhouse project began. This project included individual two-story log-sided loft cabins built by Jim Cotton Construction. This brought the resort’s total units to 35: 18 cabins and 17 townhouses. 

1993 – Nancy and Roger’s daughter, Mary, joined them in day-to-day operations. 

2010 – The lodge was rebuilt in a new location (by the turtle pond), a new pool building was constructed and a new boardwalk was built to access the beach. And construction began on the newest cabins, the cottages.

2010 – Mike, one of Nancy and Roger’s sons and his wife Ruth joined in day-to-day operations. 

2021 – Mike and Ruth won Resorters of the Year by the Community of Minnesota Resorts 

2024 – Boyd Lodge celebrates 90 years of history, family, memory-making, movie nights, bonfires, change, traditions, and most importantly, love and togetherness. 

Along with the many momentous events (there are many, many more than listed here!), changes and improvements, and highs and lows of life, what makes Boyd Lodge stand apart from other resorts are stories and traditions. They’re why you come year after year to enjoy the beauty of the Whitefish Chain of Lakes. The strong, rich history shines through in the warm, welcoming atmosphere, where you’re always treated like family.   

Lynn Boyd knew in his youth that he wanted to move north and start a resort. He persevered and worked hard to make his dream come true with nothing more than his ingenuity, problem-solving skills, and desire to succeed. Lynn’s son-in-law Roger shares that Lynn had very few tools other than a hammer and saw when he started. All on his own he brought felled trees to the sawmill for them to be cut into boards and during the winter he traveled to the Twin Cities to work so he would have enough money to sustain himself throughout the summer. “He was a remarkable man who never lost heart and just continued to work harder and harder.”

And so, with that, as Lynn and Ceil were filled with hope, excitement, and inspiration as they began this journey, let’s fill ourselves up with the same as we celebrate this landmark year. Each of these fascinating narratives forms a chapter, which together creates an enchanting story of this beloved resort families have enjoyed for generations.

Thank you for being part of our history.